RSS Feed

The Results Are In!

Posted on

My mom’s DNA sample has been fully processed. I love all things genetics and genealogy related in the first place. Add this level of personal involvement in, and my passion borders on obsession. I’ve been poring over her results whenever I have a free moment. One thing that really stands out to me is her ancestry composition and how it compares to mine.

Since her ancestry results were posted, I’ve been making a little joke regarding my donor. He must have been practically translucent considering how “white” I am and the fact that my mother’s ancestry actually has some interesting little pieces. When I refer to how “white” I am, I’m talking about the fact that my ancestry composition is more than 99% European with the majority of that 99% being Northern European. Although my mom is still predominantly of European ancestry, she has little sprinkles of Native American, East Asian, Sub-Saharan African, and Middle Eastern & North African. I find these fascinating, and wish that my grandmother (her mother) was still alive so that we could do yet another generation. Between my mom and myself, all of the East Asian, Native American, and Middle Eastern disappeared with only the tiniest fraction of a percent of Sub-Saharan African remaining. As a matter of fact, the percentage was so small that one geneticist speculated that it might just be “noise” in the analysis. My mom’s results lend some credibility to it however. I could ramble on for days about this, but I would hate to bore you.

Life has been crazy lately, good but crazy. My mom is visiting, and we celebrated Little Man’s 2nd birthday. So, I haven’t had much time to write. I hope to get back here soon to catch you all up on what’s happened in our journey TTC #2 since the miscarriage. In short, IVF is in our near future. We have most of the pre-IVF stuff out of the way and hope to have an embryo transfer in August. More to come…

About Momma

Back in the late 70s, my parents used donor sperm to conceive. The product was me. I did not know until the month that my own son, carried by my wife, was born, that I had been conceived any way other than the "old-fashioned way". So, here I am, the non-bio mom to a little guy who was conceived with the help of donor sperm having been conceived through the use of donor sperm myself. This is surely an unusual family dynamic, but I am certain that it is not entirely unique. I reside in the Midwest with my wife "Mommy" and our son "Little Man".

Leave a Reply

