RSS Feed

More genetics

Posted on

The company I used for my genetic testing started running a special near the end of 2012 in hopes of expanding the ancestry database they have. I couldn’t pass up the great deal. So, I ordered kits for Mommy and Granny. Mommy will get some great ancestry information and may even be able to make contact with some distant (or maybe not-so-distant) biological relatives. That’s a pretty big deal considering she has basically no information about her birth or biological connections. With Granny’s results, I will get even more information on our ancestry AND I will be able to tell what traits and relatives are from her DNA and which are from my donor. I would love to get one or both of my dad’s siblings to submit samples as well, but I haven’t been able to broach the subject with them. Even though their DNA is not mine, I would like to be able to trace my dad’s ancestry and genealogy as well. I think that his sister would be willing, but I don’t really know how to ask her to spit in a tube so that I can mail it in for analysis. 😉

There are other things going on in our world right now that have me distracted. I can’t wait until I can talk about them here, but for now I have to leave you hanging. It’s been a bit hard to keep up with the blog lately with all those “things” and the holidays and all the traveling we did during them, but I’ll be back. Thanks for sticking around.

About Momma

Back in the late 70s, my parents used donor sperm to conceive. The product was me. I did not know until the month that my own son, carried by my wife, was born, that I had been conceived any way other than the "old-fashioned way". So, here I am, the non-bio mom to a little guy who was conceived with the help of donor sperm having been conceived through the use of donor sperm myself. This is surely an unusual family dynamic, but I am certain that it is not entirely unique. I reside in the Midwest with my wife "Mommy" and our son "Little Man".

Leave a Reply

