RSS Feed

Relative connections

Posted on

So, a couple of weeks ago, I got a message on the genetic testing site I used to verify my conception via donor sperm. The person contacting me was obviously related to me on my mother’s side due to the listing of surnames in his profile. It actually turned out to be his mother contacting me via his account. Anyway, I’m finding that tracking down exactly how we are connected is fascinating. It looks like my mother’s paternal grandmother was the sister of his father’s paternal grandfather which would make us 3rd cousins. I’m pretty sure that’s correct. My genealogy is a little rusty. We’re still in contact and tracking down all the details. I’m thoroughly enjoying the investigation.

Then, TODAY, I got a message from someone who has done extensive genealogy research and has a LONG list of surnames on his profile. I recognize none of them. This means that he is probably most likely related to me via my donor. I’m not quite sure how I feel about that connection. This is obviously something that I considered could happen, but now that it actually has I’m not feeling the way I thought I might. I had actually thought I might be a little freaked when/if such contact actually did happen, but my curiosity has been peaked, and I responded. We’ll see where things go from here. It’s likely to be a dead-end since he may not even know if anyone in his family has ever been a donor, especially considering how distant our relationship might be, but I would never know unless I responded.

About Momma

Back in the late 70s, my parents used donor sperm to conceive. The product was me. I did not know until the month that my own son, carried by my wife, was born, that I had been conceived any way other than the "old-fashioned way". So, here I am, the non-bio mom to a little guy who was conceived with the help of donor sperm having been conceived through the use of donor sperm myself. This is surely an unusual family dynamic, but I am certain that it is not entirely unique. I reside in the Midwest with my wife "Mommy" and our son "Little Man".

One response »

  1. Hi,

    We are casting a documentary series about parenting and are very interested in speaking with you!

    Here is some information about the casting call:

    http://punchedinthehead.com/casting/

    Please contact us at casting@punchedinthehead.com or call me at 718-422-0704 x116.

    Thank you and I look forward to speaking with you soon!

    Best,
    Anna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

