RSS Feed

Genetic Testing Update

Posted on

I’ve had the complete results of my genetic testing for about a week now. We’re still waiting on the results from my paternal first cousin to be processed. Until those are done, I won’t know anything about the biological relationship to my father.

In the meantime, I’ve been absorbing and processing all the health and ancestry data that I have on me. I have to say that my ancestry is rather boring. I’m >99% European with no Native American family in at least 5 generations. My DNA matches most closely with those who have 4 grandparents from the USA, the UK, Canada, Romania, or Germany, in that order. One surprising bit of information that came out of all of this is that I am carrier for Cystic Fibrosis. It’s really not that big of deal to be a carrier unless you’re considering having biological children. If you are, you need to consider extra testing of your partner or the donor (whatever your situation calls for) and possibly prenatal testing as well. If I had siblings, it would be important to inform them of the possibility that they may be carriers as well, but I don’t. Apparently, about 1 in 25 people of European ancestry carry at least one known mutation for CF. I had no idea.

That’s about all I have to report for now. I’m waiting ever so IMpatiently for my cousin’s processing to be complete.

About Momma

Back in the late 70s, my parents used donor sperm to conceive. The product was me. I did not know until the month that my own son, carried by my wife, was born, that I had been conceived any way other than the "old-fashioned way". So, here I am, the non-bio mom to a little guy who was conceived with the help of donor sperm having been conceived through the use of donor sperm myself. This is surely an unusual family dynamic, but I am certain that it is not entirely unique. I reside in the Midwest with my wife "Mommy" and our son "Little Man".

Leave a Reply

