RSS Feed

The Waiting Game

Posted on

Trying to conceive is a series of waits. If you’re lucky and conceive quickly, but when you try for years to have a little one, the waits become even more torturous. You wait for your period to show. Then, you wait approximately 2 weeks to ovulate. After ovulation and insemination, you wait another two weeks to find out if you’re pregnant. If not, you wait another 2 for your period to come again and so on. I went into all this to say that you’d think after the 4+ years of our lives that Mommy and I spent waiting in two week increments that I would’ve found some patience somewhere, and to that, I would reply, “Not so much…”

My spit kit was mailed back a week ago today. My paternal first cousin mailed hers back today. The website says to expect processing to take 6-8 weeks. So, OBVIOUSLY, I check the site every day to see if there’s anything posted for me. I really am horrible at waiting. One week down, only 5-7 left. Ugh…

About Momma

Back in the late 70s, my parents used donor sperm to conceive. The product was me. I did not know until the month that my own son, carried by my wife, was born, that I had been conceived any way other than the "old-fashioned way". So, here I am, the non-bio mom to a little guy who was conceived with the help of donor sperm having been conceived through the use of donor sperm myself. This is surely an unusual family dynamic, but I am certain that it is not entirely unique. I reside in the Midwest with my wife "Mommy" and our son "Little Man".

One response »

  1. Hopefully closer to five weeks than seven!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

