RSS Feed

Family Tree

Posted on

The obvious place to start is with our family tree.

 

Just to clarify a few things, especially for those of you less familiar with the genogram notation:

  • Mommy was adopted by Grandpa L and Abuela who already had a biological child, Uncle.
  • Abuela passed away when Mommy and Uncle were rather young, and later, Grandpa L married Grammy.
  • After years of trying to conceive, in the late 70s, Granny and Grandpa B sought the help of an infertility clinic at a major university’s medical center. Using anonymous donor sperm (all donor sperm through this program was anonymous), they conceived Momma.
  • Mommy and Momma are a same-sex couple (obviously) who chose to expand their family through the use of donor sperm from a sperm bank. The donor they chose was an anonymous donor. After years of trying, they got pregnant, and Mommy gave birth to Little Man in the spring of 2011.
About Momma

Back in the late 70s, my parents used donor sperm to conceive. The product was me. I did not know until the month that my own son, carried by my wife, was born, that I had been conceived any way other than the "old-fashioned way". So, here I am, the non-bio mom to a little guy who was conceived with the help of donor sperm having been conceived through the use of donor sperm myself. This is surely an unusual family dynamic, but I am certain that it is not entirely unique. I reside in the Midwest with my wife "Mommy" and our son "Little Man".

2 responses »

  1. Just found your blog and am excited to read more! My partner and I too live in the midwest, just outside of Cincinnati.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

